Challenges of ICTs in the classroom

Reflecting back on my 3 weeks of prac and the integration of ICTs in the classroom, it is clear to see the potential that this has for student learning, but the possibility to do so can be limited. Going into my prac knowing that I had a Year 7 class, I had so many grand plans for integrating ICTs; however, after observing usual classroom routines I found just how difficult it can be to include these forms of technology. After reading Jade’s blog, I was glad to see I wasn’t the only one who found it challenging.  As the two Year 7s operated on a home group system, I was unable to teach a large variety of different subjects. English and Dance sessions were also largely practising and writing assessment, so there was very little explicit teaching required. 

Leave a comment